Take Action

Thank you for your interest in helping us to restore basic consumer protections to the driving for hire industry.

There are few ways to make your opinion known to the Mayor and your Councilmember:

– Post on their Facebook pages
– Email
– Phone call
– Submit questions to debates

Complete contact information for the Mayor and Councilmembers is listed below.

Here’s a comment you can copy and paste into Facebook and email, or read on the phone:

As a voter in Honolulu I believe strongly in regulations that ensure basic consumer safety and protection from price gouging. The Council’s recent actions have severely undermined those safeguards. Without fingerprinting, how can we trust that a driver has not committed a violent crime or has a history of driving under the influence? Without proof of insurance, how do we know that we’re safe while surrounded by thousands of commercial drivers? Without medical certification, how can we know that a driver is able to perform the duties expected of a for-hire driver?

Beyond such safety concerns, the Council has continued to allow Uber and Lyft to price gouge Honolulu residents and visitors with surge pricing that results in a $672.49 charge for a 55-minute ride of 26 miles.

And now Bill 44 will allow drivers to take scenic route, refuse trips without justification, and needlessly complicate how passengers are charged with a “pre-determined, all-in” fare.

As a voter, I am asking you to restore the basic consumer protections that were in place for decades and retain the few protections that are still in place.

Mayor and Council contact information:

Mayor Kirk Caldwell
Phone: 808.768.4141
Email: kcaldwell@honolulu.gov

Kymberly Marcos Pine
District 1: Portions of Ewa Villages and Ewa Beach, Kapolei, Makakilo, Kalaeloa, Honokai Hale, Ko Olina, Nanakuli, Ma’ili, Wai’anae, Makaha, Kea’au, Makua.
Phone: 808.768.5001
Email: kmpine@honolulu.gov
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Kymberly.Marcos.Pine

Ernest Y. Martin
District 2: Mililani Mauka, Wahiawa, Mokuleia, Waialua, Haleiwa, Pupukea, Sunset Beach, Kahuku, Laie, Hauula, Punaluu, Kahana, Kaaawa, Kualoa, Waiahole, and Kahaluu.
Phone: 808.768.5002
Email: emartin@honolulu.gov
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/erniemartinhawaii

Ikaika Anderson
District 3: Ahuimanu, Heeia, Haiku, Kaneohe, Maunawili, Kailua, Olomana, Enchanted Lake, and Waimanalo.
Phone: 808.768.5003
Email: ianderson@honolulu.gov
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/IkaikaAnderson

Trevor Ozawa
District 4: Hawaii Kai, Kuliouou, Niu Valley, Aina Haina, Wailupe, Waialae-Iki, Kalani Valley, Kahala, Wilhemina Rise, Kaimuki, portions of Kapahulu, Diamond Head, Black Point, Waikiki, and Ala Moana Beach Park.
Phone: 808.768.5004
Email: tozawa@honolulu.gov
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/tozawa

Ann Kobayashi
District 5: Kaimuki, Palolo Valley, St. Louis Heights, Manoa, Moiliili, McCully, and portions of Ala Moana, Kakaako, and Makiki.
Phone: 808.768.5005
Email: akobayashi@honolulu.gov

Carol Fukunaga
District 6: Portions of Makiki, Downtown Honolulu, Punchbowl, Pauoa Valley, Nuuanu, Alewa Heights, Papakolea, Fort Shafter, Moanalua, Halawa, Aiea, Kalihi Valley, and portions of Liliha and Kalihi.
Phone: 808.768.5006
Email: cafukunaga@honolulu.gov

Joey Manahan
District 7: Kalihi, lwilei, Kalihi Kai, Mapunapuna, Salt Lake, Aliamanu, Hickam, Foster Village, Ford Island, and Sand Island.
Phone: 808.768.5007
Email: jmanahan@honolulu.gov
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/joey.manahan

Brandon Elefante
District 8: Lower Aiea, Pearlridge, Waimalu, Newtown, Pearl City, Seaview, Crestview, Waipio Gentry and Waipahu.
Phone: 808.768.5008
Email: belefante@honolulu.gov
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ElectElefante

Ron Menor
District 9: Waikele, Village Park, Royal Kunia, Mililani Town, West Loch, Iroquois Point, and portions of Ewa Villages and Ewa Beach.
Phone: 808.768.5009
Email: rmenor@honolulu.gov

Please be respectful in your comments.